Fashion Stylist Yanni J shares her  story about how she started working as a fashion stylist. Check out the full interview below!

“I don’t have the luxury of having a check coming in on this specific date every other other week, etc but I have my freedom to focus on my projects. It’s definitely a grind but the projects that I’m doing are my passions so I can’t imagine not doing them.”

1. Tell us a little about yourself. 
My name is Yannique Joseph. I’m 28 years young and I’m from Queens, New York. (Laurelton to be exact). I’m really shy even though people don’t believe me and I’ll probably be hiding once this interview gets posted!image (2)
2. What is your dream job? 
Well because I’ve already been blessed with bits and pieces of my “dream job” I can share with you what some goals. My ultimate goal is to have a successful vintage shop and maybe travel the world to continue this coffee table book I’m working on. That is definitely a dream of mine.
3. What inspired you to purse a career in styling?  I can never give one straight answer when I’m asked this. But honestly I think it’s just in my blood. I’ve never been one to have the typical 9-5 going on. I don’t like the idea of having to do the same exact thing everyday. I always thought that it was possible to have a passion and turn it into a career. Why not do something you love and have it as a career?
Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
4.How long have you been a stylist? To date, what is your greatest accomplishment or favorite styling job?
I’ve been styling for about 5 years now. One of my greatest accomplishments since I started styling would probably have to be working on the wardrobe team for the artist Estelle. Before I started working with her I was doing smaller projects with independent artists, still getting my feet wet and when I got hired to work with her it was like whoa, a celeb really took a chance on me by trusting the referral from a friend of mine who was already working with her! It  was definitely a life changing experience. Red carpets, music videos, a tour and that’s only a snippet of what it involved. It was not an easy job but I learned SO much and it shaped me and directed me towards what I wanted to pursue after.

“There are days when I say to myself what was I thinking to veer off the “safe” path?? Who do I think I am to start these big dream projects when no one even knows who I am? Especially when things are taking way longer than I thought they would or the bank account is looking really sad, LOL! I stay motivated by prayer.”

 

5. What advice would you give to someone that is trying to purse a career in styling? 
Anyone who is trying to pursue a freelance career whether it’s fashion, writing, consulting, whatever I say to really think it over first! I don’t have the luxury of having a check coming in on this specific date every other other week, etc but I have my freedom to focus on my projects. It’s definitely a grind but the projects that I’m doing are my passions so I can’t imagine not doing them. Never in a million years would I think I would be working on a book, launching a vintage shop and personal shopping/styling for clients simultaneously! If it’s your passion don’t give up! And don’t think that everything comes to you quickly. I feel like this generation wants the success without putting in the work. They want to be noticed for looking good and not actually doing quality work. That’s insane to me! Work hard, stay focused and remove distractions. That’s the best advice I could give!
6. Do you ever have days when you feel like giving up? If so, how do you stay motivated? 
DEFINITELY! There are days when I say to myself what was I thinking to veer off the “safe” path?? Who do I think I am to start these big dream projects when no one even knows who I am? Especially when things are taking way longer than I thought they would or the bank account is looking really sad, LOL! I stay motivated by prayer. I consistently ask for guidance, clarity and peace. And I just have to be grateful for the season I’m in. Some will be harder than others so I try to keep that in mind. I also have an AMAZING support system with my best friends, some of my family members and an awesome group of girls from church. Anytime I feel down or just want to give up they remind me why I started in the first place and they are so encouraging. They’re great listeners and they never judge. (Thank you everyone, you know who you are!)
image
7.What’s your go to hairstyle ? ​
My go-to hair style is wash and go! I’m not good at trying new hairstyles at all! So I’ll wash or co-wash put a styling product in it and call it a day!
8.How long have you been natural & Why did you go natural? 
I’ve been natural for about 7 or 8 years now. When I was little my mom left my hair out all the time, my curls ran free and wild. When I got to high school I did not embrace it at all! I wanted the long, wash and set look and I decided to relax it monthly. By the time I got to my last years in college I was over it! I thought why I am I doing this to my hair when what I was born with is amazing?! Around that time it wasn’t the “trend” or as popular as it is now and I figured why not be different? That was probably the best decision I made and I’m so glad I did it on my own.
10177893_10101107681289800_1464939730568052475_n
9. What does your current hair routine consist of ?
I’ll do a full wash and conditioner or co-wash once a week. I’m always trying different things but currently I’m using Dark and Lovely’s Au Naturale anti-shrinkage hydrating soak shampoo and Organix Argan Oil of Morocoo conditioner. If I know that I’ll have some time, I deep condition with that for as many hours as I can then I wash it out. While my hair is wet I’ll style it with Hair Rules kinky curly cream. Sometimes I air dry, other times I’ll use a diffuser. When I go to sleep I put my hair in the pineapple ponytail and in the morning just shake it out. For second, third, fourth day hair I’ll hydrate it with a spray bottle and reapply my kinky curly cream or Dark & Lovely’s curl moisturizing souffle which was an emergency purchase! Since Hair Rules is a bit more pricey I try to preserve it and use the other stuff when I can. I’m big on hydrating/moisturizing my hair so sometimes I’ll use the quenched curls moisturizer/2nd day curl refresher as well.
10.What is one beauty product you can’t live without? 
The one beauty product I can’t live without is my kinky curly cream by Hair Rules! Last year I got my hair dyed and cut at H2 salon and the owner used it in my hair and I loved it so I’ve been using it ever since. It works and it smells good and it hasn’t failed me yet so I’ll probably stick to it for awhile.
11.What’s the best thing about being natural?
I can go out in the rain, get in the pool, or to to the beach and not worry! The few times wear it straight I’ll have a heart attack if it rains! When it’s curly I don’t have to stress about that.1939481_10101146522077550_2115172149024469726_n
You can find me on twitter @itsyannij, Instagram @yannij and on Facebook you can look me up by searching my name Yannique Joseph or facebook.com/itsyannij.

 

Follow SewingStardom here//
 PinterestTwitterFacebooktumblr

 

Leave a Reply

