For the past week, Cecily & I have been on a  30 Day Challenge to help get ourselves back on track & living healthier lifestyles. One of the main things I’ve been doing throughout this journey is drinking smoothies. Smoothies are an easy & quick way to get a bunch of powerful nutrients in a short amount of time. 

The key is to stick to fresh vegetable & fruits. I prefer to drink mainly vegetable smoothies. Fruits are high in sugar and can cause weight gain if you are drinking them excessively.  

A Few Benefits of Drinking Smoothies

  • Helps improve overall appearance of your skin
  • Helps reduce bloating by removing excess waste from the body( in other words drinking a green smoothie every day will cleanse your colon)
  • Gives you more energy
  • Curbs appetite

My Favorite Green Smoothie

  • 1/2 of an avocado
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup of spinach
  • 1 cup of kale
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1 pineapple slice
  • 2 cups of water

IMG_4770[1] IMG_4768[1] IMG_4769[1] IMG_4767[1]

This is a recipe that I made up. I drink this smoothie at least once per day.  Usually when I wake up around 6:30 am, I’ll make this smoothie. This keeps me full until I get to work around 8-9.  Occasionally, I will switch it up and add a few cucumbers, use almond milk or an apple instead of a banana. The main ingredients that I try to stick to are Avocado, Spinach & Kale.

Why you ask?

  1. Avocado is a healthy fat. It helps keep you full longer and it has amazing anti- aging properties that are great for healthy skin. However, because it is high in fat I only use a small amount in my smoothies.
  2. Kale is low in calories, high in fiber and has zero fat. It’s also packed with iron, Vitamins and antioxidants.
  3. Spinach, similar to kale is loaded with vitamins & minerals.  It is also a great way to naturally boost energy levels.

I absolutely love this recipe. It is certainly something I look forward to each morning!

What are some of your favorite smoothie recipes? Let us know below.

Follow SewingStardom Here//

PinterestTwitterFacebooktumblr

2 thoughts on “Healthy Eating// One Smoothie A Day…

  1. Looks delicious. I make a very similar smoothie myself! I think a little pineapple can make almost anything taste amazing! I’ve been drinking a veggie and fruit smoothie almost every morning for the last 2 years and when I skip it for more than a day or two I really notice a difference in how I feel. It’s amazing how easily a challenge like this can become a regular part of your life. Good luck with your 30 Day challenge!

Leave a Reply

