NICOLE CHAPLIN - Press Shot Half Body Pose  “My biggest responsibility was bringing my career to where I wanted it to be. I have a very strong spiritual system. I believe in prayer, meditation and my belief in Christ that I can do all things. This is what works for me.”

Nicole Chaplin left her fast paced career  in marketing at “Roc-A-Fella Records” to pursue her passions in the fitness industry. With a degree in “marketing” and a minor in “music business”. Nicole decided to transition from employee to a celebrity trainer, fitness model, author and much more! Nicole has been featured in Oxygen Magazine, Women’s Health Magazine the list continues to expand. I had the pleasure of training with her a few weeks ago and her energy is indescribable.  We hope that Nicole’s  story and drive will inspire you all to keep chasing your dreams.

Read below to  learn more about how she became a successful business woman & celebrity trainer, through her faith in GOD and hard work.

What was the main reason why you changed careers and how did you do it?

“When the record company split, I decided to do something else that I love to do, which is fitness. It really catapulted to great heights rather quickly. I got my first client in the locker room. From there it grew to five clients and then it grew to twenty clients and this was all while I was working at a local gym. I later decided to go privately, and open my own private gym where I trained all my clients. It really just took off, I got certified, I learned the ends and outs of being an entrepreneur. Then I became a fitness model and my career has never been the same.”

How did you know that the music industry wasn’t for you?

“The reason why that industry didn’t work for me was because…it’s a lifestyle that takes a lot of nights out of you. I’m a morning person, so I needed to made sure that I did something where I’m getting up early and doing things on my own time. Working with the artists required a lot of night work. I just knew at that stage in my life I wanted to make sure that health was parallel and fitness just worked. I was always going to the gym anyway & I’ve always been a morning person so it just made sense.”

How did you make the transition and what sacrifices have you made to get to where you are now?

“First, I had to get certified and I had to learn the different types of fitness exercises. Another challenge was learning to manage my money differently. I was so used to getting a check every two weeks that I had to learn how to budget and how to survive and maximize my money.”

“You don’t get successful from one shot. You get successful by doing daily things to lead to that destination.”

unnamed

​Did you ever have feelings of doubt or fear during this transition? How did you work through them?

“I’m going to be honest…Nope, I’ve never had any doubts or any fears. The reason why is because I have such a strong faith in the lord. I know that if I’m putting my mind into something, I’m not going to fail. It’s just not a part of who I am. That’s how I’ve always been, I’ve always been very strong willed where I just don’t believe that I am going to fail. I never put that type of energy out there. My biggest responsibility was bringing my career to where I wanted it to be. I have a very strong spiritual system. I believe in prayer, meditation and my belief in Christ that I can do all things. This is what works for me.”

Have you always been very spiritual or religious growing up?
“Absolutely, I used to pray with my mom all the time. I didn’t go to church in high school, but as a college student at The University of Miami I started going to bible study on campus and it really molded me. My faith gives me a peace of mind. I always try to look at the good in people, even if they are negative. It may be something going on that I don’t know about so I try not to judge them. If we love each other and have more of a compassion towards each other its going to make such a difference. I think as a culture, being Jamaican and being a women of color, we are not always shown love in the household as much as other cultures. I feel that I can help start the change. I try to be as loving as I can with my friends, my family and any one I’m in a relationship with. I just like to give that type of energy, my thing is if I don’t like the trend why not start one?”
NICOLE CHAPLIN - Sledge

How does your faith effect your lifestyle & career? 

“It affects it a lot. I’m not perfect , but I certainly have morals. So I also am careful of what I put on the internet & instagram and just overall how I brand myself. At the end of the day when mommy looks at me and when I have a conversation with god at night I want to make sure that he’s pleased with what I’ve done and that I’ve inspired someone. Making sure that I haven’t disrespected myself, my family name or anybody else. I try my best to do all of those things.”

Do you ever have days where you just don’t feel like working out, if so what keeps you motivated?

“I definitely have them, trust me. However, I have so many things I want to do. I have a charity that I want to start. I want to travel the world, I want to go to Morocco, I want to go to Egypt and climb the pyramids. In order for me to do these things, I have to work hard on a daily basis. You don’t get successful from one shot. You get successful by doing daily things to lead to that destination. So, in order for me to become global I have to work hard on every scale. That’s what keep me motivated to see people in my classes, to see changes in people that I’ve trained. I actually have a client that was on depression pills for 12 years and after training with me for some time his doctor that he didn’t need them anymore, because he got such a natural high from training with me. I’m also motivated because I see myself being a wife & mom one day and I want to have a beautiful structure in place. So that when I do join forces with my king, It’ll be a situation that I can bring something to his life and he can contribute to mine as well.

What inspired you to write your book “Yes Ma’am, Muscle as a Motivator”?
“I took my journals and positive affirmations and put them into a book. Anytime someone would take a time to talk to me or show me some type of positive energy I would always be grateful. It’s really about showing gratitude no matter what! Another principle that I live by is to really give my all no matter what it is. If I have a workout, I give my all. If I have a training session… I give my all! If I’m going on a business trip I give my all! I really try to give the best that I have within me no matter how tired I am. One day my mommy said to me, You should just turn it into a book. So to make it tie into to fitness every chapter has a principle that tied in with a muscle group. That’s where the name, Your Muscle As A Motivator Yes Ma’am” came from.”
NICOLE CHAPLIN - YES MAM BOOK (small)

What is your favorite and least favorite thing about being an entrepreneur?

“My favorite thing is I can make my own schedule, ugggh I love that(giggles). I can go to Miami (her hometown) when I want and I can do whatever I want to do, when I want to do it. The least favorite thing is budgeting! I have to be sure to budget to correctly.”

Let’s talk diet, what do you eat to stay in shape?

“I love juicing! Especially, dark green veggies. From cucumbers, spinach, arugula, kale… just about anything that’s dark green. I’m very heavy on that. It’s something I do everyday. I drink plenty of water and I stay away from sweets.  As for lunch and dinner, I eat a lot of baked chicken, salmon, baked potatoes and veggies. I try to stay away from  heavy carbs at night. I’ll sometimes have a yogurt as a snack.”

How about bad snacks, do you ever just indulge? If so, what’s your favorite snack?

Oh yes! Oreos(giggles). I have to stay away from those oreos.”

Let’s switch gears and talk beauty for a bit…we’ve all heard the excuse, ” I can’t work out because it will ruin my hair”. What’s your opinion on this  and how do you maintain your hair during your workouts?NICOLE_CHAPLIN_Sweet

“I wear Brazilian extensions. I like my hair long, so this just works for me. Styling my hair takes too much time so I prefer to wear extensions. I would never choose my hair over my health. I can always change my hair, just like that. I can’t do that with my body. I’m not going to act like my hair is not a priority, I mean I’m a woman of color…I’m Jamaican, but you just have to choose. You have to choose what you want more. However, I still take care of my hair, my natural hair is down to my shoulders. I get it deep conditioned each time I get my hair done by my stylist in Soho. I think it’s about having a balance. You can protect your hair, take care of it and still take care of your body.

Lastly, do you  have any advice for inspiring entrepreneurs?

“Learn your craft!Whatever it is that you are doing, be the best at it! Another thing, is to have a great accountant. Final tip, be fearless!There’s going to be rough times.”

Outside of fitness, Nicole is very passionate about inspiring and uplifting others. She is currently working on a TV show that will help create a positive image of women. Nicole is a beautiful woman both inside & out and we are glad have her share her story with “SewingStardom”. Check out this video below to learn more about Nicole!

 Nicole’s book “Yes, Mam! Your Muscle As A Motivator”, can be purchased at 

www.nicolechaplin.com 
www.amazon.com 
www.barnesandnoble.com

Follow Nicole Here

Twitter: @nicolechaplin
Instagram: @nicolechaplin

Follow us SewingStardom// PinterestTwitterFacebooktumblr

Leave a Reply

