Wellness// Personal Fitness Journey

photo: Taye  Johnson(Soul Cycle Instructor)

In January of 2012, I started my fitness journey. I remember signing up for the local gym and become completely obsessed with working out. At that time in my life I was extremely dedicated fitness and eating healthy. I was seeing changes, feel amazing and most importantly I was healthy. I was doing an amazing job for about a year and then I started getting lazy. In 2013, I noticed that my body was changing. I didn’t workout as much and I started to embrace the little bit of curves I had accumulated over the year. By the end of 2013 I was a pant size bigger and my tummy had lost just about all it’s definition. Looking at myself in the mirror I remember feeling satisfied with my new slightly curvy body, but disappointed in my lack of motivation. I’d ask my self,” Where had my drive and passion gone?”. After some thinking, I’ve decided that I need to get back on track before it’s too late. I’ve gotten way too comfortable with “gaining a little weight”. If I keep up this routine, I’ll be over weight before I know it. It’s so easy to slack off, but I refuse to be another statistic living with diseases like obesity, diabetes and hypertension.pin52dc66d4415fb

I’ve never really been one to hop on a scale to measure my weight gain. I usually use pictures & I pay attention to the way my clothes fit. For example, in 2012 I was at my most fit point and now in 2014 I’m at my least physically fit point. I naturally gain weight in my midsection and that’s where the main change is. Surprising my actually weight has remained about the same over the past two years. IMG_2700

Along with my lack of ambition to work out, I’ve also stopped eating healthy. I went from making smoothies everyday & cooking healthy dinners to order takeout & drinking soda. I don’t do it often, but I do it a lot more than I should. The excess carbs, fats & sugars are catching up to me. Eating healthy and working out go hand in hand. Since I hadn’t been doing any type of exercise I started eating however I wanted. I notice that when I workout every single day I am very careful about what I eat. I remember feeling guilty if I had a bad meal, almost as if I were cheating myself.

What are my fitness goals?

1. Slim down & tighten up// I’m not looking to lose a large amount of weight, but I would like to drop a few inches from my waistline and gain even more definition in my stomach than I had before. I know that if I push myself I will see results like never before.

2. Regain Passion and Strength// One thing I used to love when I was more committed was my determination. I was so dedicated to working out I would literally bring my gym clothes with me to work and go straight to the gym after working 8 hrs. I worked out on weekends too. I was extremely self motivated and I challenged myself to do more with each workout.

How do I plan to get back on track?

1.Workout//At least once per day spend between 30 -60mins doing cardio & 30 mins strength training. Since my body type is “apple shaped” I naturally gain weight in my midsection first.

Therefore, I have to do A LOT of cardio to stay in shape. Since I no longer have access to a treadmill machine or things of that nature I have to get creative in order to get in 60mins of intense cardio. This is probably one of my favorite workout videos by the lovely Keaira Lashae. If you aren’t already following her please do, she’s awesome.

Along with this I plan to do

-Zumba: 3x per week. One of my favorite Zumba workouts would have to be this video by Ariella. I do this at least 3 times, when I can’t make it to my zumba class.


-Circuit Training: doing a mixture of intense cardio exercises for a short period of time in intervals.(for example: mountain climbers, skaters, burpees and jumping jacks)

-Strength Training: Ab exercises and lowering body muscle building exercises

998274_10151601681766235_1467331198_n

I used to think I could only get a good cardio workout at the gym, now I know that I can. I just have to be willing to push myself.

2. Drink more water: I already drink a pretty decent amount of water. I’ve set a goal for myself to start drinking a 2 liters to 1 gallon per day.

3. Eat more healthy: This is probably the most difficult part for me. I love food especially snacks and chocolate. However, in order to see results I have to start eating better and cutting out a lot of fats and sugars.DSCN6914

4. Stay motivated: I’ve been using websites like tumblr and pinterest to create inspiration boards. I have apps on my phone and plenty of Youtube Videos that I use to stay motivated.

I can’t lie this will certainly be a challenge for me! However, I’m determined to tighten & tone up my body. Being fit is truly a lifestyle choice!

So ladies & gents what are some of your fitness goals for 2014? What are some of the challenges you are facing when it comes to working out and staying healthy? Let us know below or

Follow us here//

PinterestTwitterFacebooktumblr

3 thoughts on “Wellness// Personal Fitness Journey

Leave a Reply

