Natural Hair// Winterize Your Wash & Go

20140124-111403

As of lately I’ve been experimenting more and more with my “go-to” summer style “The Wash & Go. I remember when I first started embracing my naturally curly hair my wash & go’s would look like a frazzled mess. But, after years of patience and practice, I’ve finally mastered a technique that works extremely well on my hair type.

This past summer I started experimenting more and more with this effortless style. You may remember this post that I did in the summer time. Since then I’ve added a few changes to my routine.

Read below for a simple guide on how I winterize my wash& go routine. 20140124-111627

1. Pre-poo(optional) // Using my favorite oil mixture (EVOO & Castro Oil). I start each styling day with an oil treatment. I liberally apply this oil all over my hair. I then spend a few minutes massaging the oils into my scalp using a circular motion. In order to lock in the moisture I apply a plastic cap (or a shoprite bag) to my head for at least 15 minutes.

2. Detangle & Cowash// Due to the cold brisk air, it’s vital that us curly girls keep our hair hydrated. After I rinse out my oils, I separate my hair into four sections and liberally apply my conditioner of choice. For the past few months I’ve been using “Aussie Moist Conditioner”(see review here). No matter which conditioner I use I always check for these properties: SLIP & MOISTURE. Using a wide tooth comb I “gently” detangle my hair from ends to roots while in the shower. After I rinse all of the product out of my hair I loosely twist each section to prevent it from tangling back up. After this step I DO NOT USE MY COMB! This helps my natural curls to form and prevents any unnecessary breakage.

3. Cleanse & Shampoo// Before I style my hair I always use a moisturizing shampoo to cleanse my hair. In order to remove product build up, I leave my hair in the four twists and apply a nickel size amount of shampoo to my scalp. I massage my scalp in a circular motion to remove oil and any other products from my previous style. I then rinse my hair while leaving it in the same for twists.

4. Deep Condition// For the past month, I’ve been using the “3 Minute Miracle” by Aussie Moist. (WHICH I LOVE BTW, full review here).  I generously apply the conditioner onto my while still working in four sections. Once the product is in my hair I finger detangle to help define my curls even more. I then apply my plastic cap and allow the product to sit in my hair from 15-30mins.

 

5. Moisturize & Seal// While still in the shower; I remove my twists, take a small amount of conditioner (the same one I used to co-wash) and apply it lightly from roots to ends. I smooth the product on my hair in a downward motion. I then take the same oil I used during my pre-poo and apply it in the same manner.

6. Define// (At this point I step out of the shower) First, I take Shea Moisture’s Curl Enhancing Smoothie” (working from front to back) and I apply a small amount from roots to ends using a smoothing method in a downward motion. After I do that all over my head I follow with “Eco Styler Olive Oil Gel” applying it in the same manner. 20140121-08341620140121-083428

7. Diffuse//Before I dry my hair I ALWAYS apply a light heat protectant all over my hair. Using my blow dryer on low speed first I start to diffuse my hair from the ends to the roots. This keeps my hair from getting too frizzy. If I want big hair I use high heat and high speed. If I want my hair to be more define and to make my style last longer I use high heat and low speed.

20140124-113925

That’s it ladies! My hair has been loving these “wash and go’s” as of lately. I usually sleep with a pineapple or just a satin pillow case at night. I’ve been noticing my hair tends to looks better when I just sleep with it out. Strange…I know.

This style typically last 3-4 days. If I’m too lazy to restyle I will just pull my hair back into two large flat twists. I try to minimize styling to 1x per week. Two times if I have an important function on the weekend.

I hope this was helpful! Please keep in mind this works for my hair. It may not turn out the same exact way on your hair. What’s your favorite winter hairstyle?

Follow us here// PinterestTwitterFacebooktumblr

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

