Inspiration// Home Decor Edition

I remember about two years ago…I was 20 years old, when my mom and dad finally split. They were never married, but they we together for my entire life so the whole ordeal was quite traumatizing. With my sister being two years older than me and more financially secure she had already made plans to move out. My brother who’s five years older than me had been living alone for years. Then there was me…. the lost 20 something year old little girl trying to figure out where I would be living, working etc.. I couldn’t stay with my mom because she decided to move back to her hometown in North Carolina and living with my dad wasn’t really an option.

So, I moved in with my big sister. I slept on her couch for about a year. Once I found out my niece was on the way I knew I ‘d have to leave soon. My sister’s one bedroom apartment wasn’t really enough space for all of us. To make a very long story short I spent almost two years sleeping on couches, living room floors and in guest bedrooms. It was not fun, at times it was very stressful…but by keeping faith and working hard I finally landed a job that would provide the financial security I was longing for.

This past November, I finally moved into my very first apartment! Moving into my own place was on on my to do list for about 2 years before it actually happened. It has to be one of the scariest and the most amazing things that has ever happened to me. Although this post wasn’t really supposed to be about my personal life drama lol, I felt the urge to share that story, maybe it can help someone else. I used to be embarrassed about it, but not anymore. I’m living proof that if you are going through a rough time, it’s only temporary!

It’s been a hell of a journey but, I’m so grateful that it has finally happened. Going through all of that makes it so much more special today. 

Now time for the fun part decorating! I’ve been kind of obsessed with Pinterest as of lately. I have so many cool ideas for how I plan to decorate my new space. The inspiration is a Modern-Vintage style. I’m truly obsessed with cream, white, ivory, egg shell and bright pops of color. Here’s some of my favorite inspiration pics for more check out my pinterest.

I’m completely obsessed with this flamingo wall paper! Does anyone know where I can find it?

Another one of my obsessions include anything that is Egyptian & Indian inspired! 

I’m in love with the idea of taking vintage pieces and updating them…something like this.

What do you guys think? I’m planning of making a video on moving and living alone in the near future.I’ll be sure to add an apartment tour into the video!

Be sure to Follow SewingStardom Here//

PinterestTwitterFacebooktumblr

Leave a Reply

